Update!

Wow, it’s been a long time since I’ve done an update! A lot has changed in the last two and a half months. I have been envisaging a small flock, with less chickens and more time with each one. Finally, I’ve gotten around to selling/giving away some of my chickens! I was able to get my flock down to only ten! Yay! I’m hoping I’ll be able to give away my two Japanese Bantam roosters, then I’ll finally have my complete flock! Also, I named all my Mille Fleur d’Uccle chickens! There names are: Hans, Sage, Gabriela, and Primrose. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to show them all at the fair with Lily and April. Speaking of which, the fair is coming up in only a few weeks! It’s crazy! I’ve been studying all that I can and I’m hoping it’ll be enough. Last year, I won the novice devision and made it to the final round. I didn’t win the whole thing, but I’m hoping that this year I might just be able to get second in everything. It’s not going to be an easy road though, I know some of the people that will be in my devision this year and they are really good as well. I will also be entering the chicken dressings, which I will be dressing Lily up as “The Chicken That Skis,” I will be entering (most likely) April in the chicken racing contest, and Hans in the rooster crowing contest! I’m hoping that April will do better in the chicken races this year, as she lost in only the second round last year. I am excited about entering Hans in the rooster crowing competition, mostly because this is the first time I’ve done it. I was not able to do it last year because, well, I didn’t have a rooster!

At the fair, I will also be doing rabbits, even though I don’t really know much about them, and horticulture, which I did last year. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to entering melons, zucchini, lettuce (which I might have trouble with because they’re ready a few weeks early), kohlrabi, and beans.

I’m a little bit frustrated because, unfortunately, it has been raining for the past few days. I’ve had to keep my chickens in their keep all day because if they go out in the torrential rain and the messy mud before the upcoming show, they will be in very bad condition. Since I’m hoping to do better in type judging at the fair this year, they are going to have to be kept in. I’m really hoping that my d’Uccles will be better quality birds than some of the birds I’ve had in the past. I’m especially worried because the judges tend to be more harsh with the bantams, at least I seemed to have heeded that at the last fair. April and Lily are nearing a molt, which is driving me crazy because they look horrible! I have been very acquiesced by this, but, there’s no sense trying to change this because there’s is absolutely nothing I can do about it. I mean, winning type isn’t completely what I’m wanting to win, it’s more the fitting and showing that I’m worried about losing. But, it would of course be grandeur to do well in type.

I’m a bit disappointed that Lily isn’t technically show quality, because she has a defective toe (half of it is strangely missing) which isn’t good because I usually show her.  I recently thought about how the judge always carefully scrutinizes the bird, and mainly the toes. If it came down to it, I could potentially lose because of that. So, I have been training the lovely Sage for it. She is a beautiful chicken, but she tends to be a bit too squirmy and I’m really hoping she’ll be ready by the time of the fair.

Here is a picture I took a few days ago of Lily.

DSCF3781

Leave a Reply

