It’s been a very eventful year for my flock so far…in a bad way

Here’s a (somewhat) quick update:

-January: there was an Avian Influenza outbreak in our area and my birds got tested. The veterinarian testing our birds was nice and I even got to help you swab a few! Our birds tested negative which was great.

Now, to this month. I lost Sage last sunday (Feb. 8th) to what I thought was a raccoon. Her loss was sad, as she was a show quality bird. Well, today, a falcon attacked my chickens and killed sweet, little April šŸ˜¦ I will truly miss April–my perfect fitt & show bird, the one who was happily singing in the yard this morning, the one who loved to sleep in my lap. So, I have deduced that the three chickens I’ve lost to predators (Savannah, Sage, and April) were killed by a falcon. I’m not sure how I will prevent further falcon attacks, so I’ll try to keep you all updated.

Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “It’s been a very eventful year for my flock so far…in a bad way

  1. Hello Bantam Fan, I am so sorry for your loss. Your chickens are lovely from the photos and in a way your website keeps them living on. If you keep your chickens locked up for a few days the falcon should leave you alone, or so I hope. Best to you and your flock.

  2. So sorry to hear about April. We always enjoy seeing them fly over, but forget they are predators. Hopefully he moves on and finds some mice or rats to go after instead! Was nice seeing you yesterday.

Leave a Reply

